first week

This week I could say is the week of a lot of ‘firsts’. I had my first day of classes as well as my first day of my internship.

I think I will learn a lot from my classes. There is definitely a religious tone to all my classes probably due to the fact that Georgetown is a Jesuit school. So that is tangible difference from my home institution.
My international affairs seminar class is about terrorism and how religion plays a role. I think I will learn a lot from this class since I know virtually nothing about terrorism. My professor (Gregory Havrilak) has had a lot of experience internationally and his stories about serving as a NATO officer is fascinating. Read his bio for yourself, it is quite interesting.

Greg Havrilak has worked in numerous posts as both lecturer and religious advisor. For nine years he taught ancient, medieval and modern philosophy at the City University of New York and at Nassau College on Long Island. In 1998, he settled in Europe to become the Senior Religious Advisor to NATO AIRNORTH, and to the military attaché at the American Embassy in Paris. When the Kosovo War broke out, he was dispatched to the Balkans to work with Catholic, Islamic and Orthodox leaders and Non-Governmental Agencies in Albania and Kosovo on humanitarian, religious and human rights issues

My other professor, Bradeley Blakeman, invited us to his interview on FOX NEWS last night which was a great insight into how television news works.

Bradley A. Blakeman most recently was the President of Freedom’s Watch a right of center conservative advocacy 501 C4. Prior to founding Freedom’s Watch, Mr. Blakeman was a member of President George W. Bush’s Senior Staff having served from 2001-2004 as Deputy Assistant to the President for Appointments and Scheduling, Vetting and Research, Correspondence and Surrogate Scheduling. Mr. Blakeman can be seen regularly as a Republican Strategist on FOX News, MSNBC, BBC, CNN and Al Jezeera. He also is published regularly in Politico, US News and World Report and Newsmax. Mr. Blakeman played a major role in the 2000 Presidential Election as a Senior Advisor and played a critical role in the Florida Recount a role that landed him a part as a character in the HBO Film “Recount”. He has also been an advisor on the ABC TV Drama Series “Commander in Chief”. Mr. Blakeman is an Attorney licensed to practice in that State of New York and the District of Columbia and is currently the President & CEO with Kent Strategies LLC, a private corporation dedicated to providing strategic advice as well as crisis management and communications strategies to foreign governments and foreign and domestic corporations. He is also a principal of Manhole Barrier Security Systems Inc., which owns a U.S. Utility Patent on a manhole-locking device that is currently being sold nationwide. Mr. Blakeman has been active in Presidential Politics since 1980. He was appointed to serve as a member of the United States
Holocaust Memorial Council during the George H.W. Bush Administration.

But onto my internship at the Department of Education. It is a new experience to actually work within the federal government. I just love the feeling of swiping my id card to get into the elevator! But it seems like it will be a great time- The DOE sponsors lunch with various people within the DOE and guess who I will be having lunch with! (along with the 50 other interns)– Arne Duncan! Secretary of Education. The Secretary of Education is part of the President’s cabinet and is 16th in line for presidential succession. (Just a fun fact.) I work within the Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development (OPEPD) and there are 3 interns (including me).

A few days ago, my professor Blakeman invited our WSP class to watch him interview at Fox News and tour the studio. It was quite interesting!

Here we are with him!

And so my time in D.C begins…


One Comment on “first week”

  1. Jackson Chu says:

    Seems like you’re already adapting to this new environment well. We’ll see you in Octoberrrrrrr!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.